World Cup 2022: Every previous World Cup Golden Ball winner

World Cup 2022: Every previous World Cup Golden Ball winner: Luka Modric of Croatia poses with the FIFA Golden Ball for player of the tournament at the end of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Final between France and Croatia at Luzhniki Stadium on July 15, 2018 in Moscow, Russia.
(Image credit: Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images)

The World Cup 2022 will, as usual, see the player of the tournament honoured with the Golden Ball.

It hasn't always been that way, though: until 1978, there was no prize for the best individual performer at the finals – and FIFA didn't introduce an official award until 1982.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tom Hancock

Tom Hancock started freelancing for FourFourTwo in April 2019 and has also written for the Premier League and Opta Analyst, among others. He supports Wycombe Wanderers and has a soft spot for Wealdstone. A self-confessed statto, he has been known to watch football with a spreadsheet (or several) open...