Edouard seals Scottish Football Writers’ award

Kilmarnock v Celtic – Ladbrokes Scottish Premiership – Rugby Park
(Image credit: Jeff Holmes)

Celtic striker Odsonne Edouard has been crowned the Scottish Football Writers’ Association player of the year.

The 22-year-old saw off competition from team-mate Callum McGregor, Rangers forward Alfredo Morelos and Dundee United striker Lawrence Shankland.

The Frenchman netted 28 goals for Celtic last season including 22 in 27 league matches.

See more

It is the seventh year in a row that a Celtic player has won the award and Edouard follows Kris Commons, Craig Gordon, Leigh Griffiths, Scott Sinclair, James Forrest and Scott Brown in claiming the prize.

Griffiths took the trophy on the previous occasion the award did not end up at Celtic Park, winning it in 2013 while playing for Hibernian.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1