FIFA set to name World Player of Year

Manchester United and Portugal winger Cristiano Ronaldo is widely seen as the favourite, having already won the Ballon d'Or trophy awarded by football journalists in December to the best European-based player.

Ronaldo, who won England's Premier League, the Champions League and FIFA's World Club Cup with United in 2008, faces competition from fellow nominees Xavi Hernandez, Fernando Torres, Lionel Messi and Kaka.

Xavi and Torres were both instrumental in Spain's victory at Euro 2008, while Messi helped steer Argentina to Olympic gold at the Beijing Games.

Last year's FIFA World Player Kaka is seeking to emulate Brazilian compatriots Ronaldo and Ronaldinho by winning the title in successive years but is considered an outside chance following a year blighted by injury problems.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool striker Torres will also carry the hopes of the Premier League with them as they bid to win a trophy which has so far only been awarded to players based at Italian or Spanish clubs.

UNITED FANS! Check’s ever-expandinginterviews archivefor more stuff to read:
Web Exclusives Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Carlos Tevez
Q+A Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruud Van Nistlerooy
One on One David Beckham, George Best,
Ask A Silly Question Bryan Robson
Boy's A Bit Special Danny Simpson
Perfect XI Garth Crooks, Bryan Robson, Sir Bobby Charlton, Eric Cantona
What Happened Next? David May, Norman Whiteside
Sing When You’re Winning Dominic Monaghan, Ian Brown

Plus! Rate United players (and others) on Talentspotter

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1