Revealed! This year's PFA Player of the Year award winner...

Virgil van Dijk

The Dutchman has enjoyed an outstanding season at the heart of Jurgen Klopp’s defence, earning him a nomination alongside team-mate Sadio Mané, Sterling, fellow Manchester City pair Bernardo Silva and Sergio Aguero, plus Chelsea talisman Eden Hazard.

However, the Evening Standard (opens in new tab) has reported that Van Dijk will be named as the winner after securing the most votes from his fellow professionals.

Sterling and Van Dijk were the clear favourites to clinch the award after excelling during their clubs’ tooth-and-nail fight for the Premier League title.

Van Dijk will succeed Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah after the Egyptian won it in 2017/18 with a record-breaking scoring season. 

The 27-year-old Dutchman has helped the Anfield club record the best defensive record in the Premier League this year, as well as guiding them to the Champions League semi-finals.


10 players you'd forgotten were in a PFA Premier League Team of the Year (opens in new tab)

11 Premier League players you won't believe never made the PFA Team of the Year (opens in new tab)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alasdair Mackenzie is a freelance journalist based in Rome, and a FourFourTwo contributor since 2015. When not pulling on the FFT shirt, he can be found at Reuters, The Times and the i. An Italophile since growing up on a diet of Football Italia on Channel 4, he now counts himself among thousands of fans sharing a passion for Ross County and Lazio.