Eduardo subject of UEFA admin error

Arsenal striker Eduardo's appeal over his two match ban for diving was reportedly due to be heard on Wednesday, following an administrative error by UEFA.

The Brazilian-born Croatia international was handed the suspension after UEFA's disciplinary and control panel ruled he had attemped to deceive the referee to win a penalty in the second leg of the Gunners' Champions League play-off tie with Celtic.

Eduardo converted the spot-kick after he fell to the ground despite there appearing to be no contact with Bhoys' stopper Artur Boruc.

Arsenal have appealed against the decision, believing the ruling "is deeply flawed and not based on any forensic view of the video evidence available."

However, the striker was originally due to face UEFA's appeals committee in Switzerland on Wednesday, the same day that Croatia were facing England in a crucial 2010 World Cup qualifier at Wembley.

"Surely UEFA must have realised Eduardo was involved in the World Cup qualifying matches," an Arsenal source told The Sun.

"This just about sums up the way they have handled the whole case."