Stories

Barcelona's Lionel Messi has goal disallowed despite ball clearly crossing the line

La Liga doesn't have goal-line technology, resulting in Messi's 'goal' being disallowed against Valencia.

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

Half an hour into Barcelona's tight contest with los Che, Messi had a strike from range which Neto spilled into his own net. 

The 28-year-old goalkeeper eventually batted the ball away, but the official failed to realise it had clearly already crossed the line.

Thanks to La Liga's lack of goal-line technology – mainly due to league president Javier Tebas's primary concerns about costs – the goal wasn't awarded by referee Ignacio Iglesias.

Messi and his Barcelona team-mates were left fuming at the decision in the La Liga clash which ended 1-1.

Rodrigo put Valencia ahead early in the second half before Jordi Alba scored a vital equaliser eight minutes from time.

In Other News...