Santana ignores calls for McCarthy

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa coach Joel Santana resisted the growing clamours for striker Benni McCarthy to be recalled when he named his squad on Thursday for friendlies in Norway and Iceland.

Despite widespread media speculation that a recall was on the cards, Santana did not include the Blackburn Rovers forward or Spanish-based defender Nasief Morris in the travelling party for internationals in Oslo on October 10 and Reykjavik on October 13.

McCarthy is South Africa's all-time record goal scorer but has not been picked since March when he withdrew from the squad citing a hamstring injury.

Morris of Racing Santander was left out of the Confederations Cup squad in June, with South African soccer officials at the time saying the omission was a result of his poor attitude.

This month's two matches continue preparations for the 2010 World Cup hosts, who are seeking to improve their form after a string of poor results.


Goalkeepers: Emille Baron (SuperSport United), Rowen Fernandez (Arminia Bielefeld), Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates)

Defenders: Bevan Fransman (Maccabi Netanya), Siboniso Gaxa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Morgan Gould (SuperSport United), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa), Aaron Mokoena (Portsmouth), Anele Ngcongca (KRC Genk), Siyabonga Sangweni (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Lucas Thwala (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Kagisho Dikgacoi (Fulham), Benson Mhlongo (Orlando Pirates), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates), Steven Pienaar (Everton), MacBeth Sibaya (Rubin Kazan), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Elrio van Heerden (Blackburn Rovers)

Forwards: Richard Henyekane (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Mabhuti Khenyeza, Katlego Mphela (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Sthembiso Ngcobo (Free State Stars), Bernard Parker (Twente Enschede).