No Premier League in UEFA team of year

UEFA said a record 5.3 million votes had been cast by nearly half a million users of, 20 percent more than a year ago, with eight players named from clubs in Spain's La Liga.

The team of the year, now in it's 12th edition, does not bear the official UEFA imprimatur but is popular among fans.

Barcelona and Real Madrid had four players each and Barcelona's Andres Iniesta was chosen by nearly near three out of every four voters. The two clubs also had eight players in last year's list.

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo, who would line-up alongside Barcelona goal-machine and world player of the year Lionel Messi in the fantasy selection, and Iker Casillas made the team for the sixth year in a row.

Users were also asked for the first time to choose their favourite formation and came up with 4-4-2, the default system for the previous 11 editions.

FIFA's team of the year, announced this month, was composed entirely of players from La Liga.

Team of the year:

Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid).

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Thiago Silva (AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich).

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Mesut Özil (Real Madrid).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1