Where are they now? France's Euro 2000 Champions

In the lead-up to this year's European Championships, FourFourTwo have tracked down members of some famous Euro winners from years gone by. This month we've taken a look at France's star-studded team from 2000...

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

France entered Euro 2000, which was co-hosted by Belgium and the Netherlands, as the reigning World Champions and under pressure to back that up with another strong performance.

Finishing second in their group behind the Dutch, Les Bleus overcame Spain in the quarter-finals and then outlasted Portugal 2-1 after extra-time to set-up a decider against Italy.

Trailing 1-0 heading into injury time and with Italian fans ready to celebrate, Sylvain Wiltord scored with seconds remaining before David Trezeguet's golden goal secured the trophy.

So, where are those French heroes now?

Written by Shanjayan Muniappan, Kenneth Tan and Dhaliwal AS

Fabien Barthez

After his retirement from football in 2007, the French goalkeeper went from living between the sticks to living on the edge as a motorsport driver.

The former Manchester United and Marseille custodian can now be found at race tracks sporting a helmet and gear. On top of his success in football, the 44-year-old won the French racing series in 2013, known as France’s FFSA GT.

Then 42, the Frenchman and co-driver Morgan Moulin-Traffort secured the trophy by taking fifth and eighth-placed finishes in the competition's last two races in Marseille.

In 2014, Barthez took part in the Le Mans 24 hours race, one of the most prestigious automobile events in the world where entrants have to balance speed with the cars' ability to last for 24 hours without sustaining mechanical damage.

Barthez finished 29th with his co-driver in a race that included former F1 driver Mark Webber. In June, Barthez will be taking part in the same race again, while hoping France emulate the footballing success he had back in 2000. – SM