Clut called into Young Roos camp

Brisbane Roar's breakthrough star and former local Nike The Chance winner Devante Clut is one of 23 called up for a Young Socceroos camp in Sydney next week.

Clut burst into the A-League last month with a spectacularly struck goal on his debut and is now in contention for a national team call up, just after signing a new two year deal with Brisbane.  

Young Socceroos coach Paul Okon is bringing the 23 players to Sydney for a three-day training camp next week from Monday to Wednesday.

The training camp is the second as part of the Young Socceroos preparations for the AFC U-19 Championship in Myanmar in October this year, which also double as qualification tournament for the FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand which will be held in July 2015.

Okon sid he was excited about working with this group of players for the first time this year.

“This is the first of four training camps that we will have in the lead up to the World Cup qualifiers (AFC U-19 Championship) in October,” said Okon.

“Although many of the players were at the December training camp, we have also brought in some new players to have a look at.

“At the moment our goal is to identify as many players as possible that could fit into the squad as well as working on the structure and style of play that we want to take into the tournament.

“With the Foxtel National Youth League wrapping up in a few weeks, these camps will become even more important in the coming months."

 The Young Socceroos will play a training match against the Marconi Stallions at 6:45pm on Wednesday at Marconi Stadium.

Young Socceroos Squad List – Sydney Training Camp – 17 to 19 February 2014 

Daniel Alessi

Western Sydney Wanderers

Shannon Brady

Brisbane Roar

Jordan Brown

Melbourne Victory

Brandon Borello

Brisbane Roar

Devante Clut

Brisbane Roar

Shayne D’Cunha

Western Sydney Wanderers

Daniel De Silva

Perth Glory

Alusine Fofanah

Western Sydney Wanderers

Lawrence Hanna

Western Sydney Wanderers

Michael Kantarovski

Newcastle Jets

Jordan Lampard

Brisbane Roar

Awer Mabil

Adelaide United

Joshua Macdonald

Sydney FC

Thomas Manos (gk)

Western Sydney Wanderers

Marc Marino


Mark Ochieng


Luke Radonich(gk)

Perth Glory

Liam Rose


Jordan Thurtell (gk)


George Timotheou


Jaiden Walker

Brisbane Roar

Ben Warland


Riley Woodcock

Perth Glory



Very interesting statistics about this squad. The AIS has contributed 6 players, the Wanderers and Roar 5 each, Perth 3 and MVFC, AUFC, NCJ and SFC 1 each.

Surprises me a bit because Sydney has won the Youth League Premiership with 3 more games to go. However I am not complaining about the Roar's contribution and it is obviously well deserved.

Proud to have so many talented young players at our club and they are obviously benefitting from our coaching set up and the involvement of youth players with our HAL squad.

Keep up the good work Brisbane.