FFA Cup reveal draws near

The highly anticipated start to the FFA Cup will crank up a notch on Friday as the combatants go into the draw for the Round of 32 matches.

Clubs will be separated into three pots – Pot A for the four Hyundai A-League 2014 Semi Finalists, Pot B for the remaining six Hyundai A-League clubs and Pot C for the 22 qualified member federation clubs.

The draw will be broadcast live from 12pm (AEST) on Fox Sports News (Ch 513) and also streamed online at www.theffacup.com.au.

Melbourne Knights became the final team to qualify following their 2-0 win over South Melbourne on Wednesday night in the fourth quarter final of the FFV’s Dockerty Cup.

Participating clubs are spread as far north as FNQ Heat in Cairns down to South Hobart in Tasmania and out west to Football West’s two entrants, Bayswater City and Stirling Lions.

Seven of the competing clubs – Adelaide City, Blacktown City, Brisbane Strikers, South Coast Wolves, Sydney Olympic, Sydney United, and Melbourne Knights – all played in the National Soccer League.

While the draw reveal who faces who in the Round of 32, fans will have to wait until Monday June 30 to learn specific match details in regards to dates, venues and kick-off times.

The 16 matches will be split over four weeks, with four games a week, either on Tuesday or Wednesday nights.

Fox Sports will broadcast at least 10 matches in the competition from the Round of 32 onwards, including all four quarter-finals, both semi-finals and the final.

The draw will be hosted by Fox Sports football personality Michael Zappone, and will feature two Australian football legends, Paul Okon and Mile Sterjovski who both played in the NSL and A-League as well as overseas.

The opening match day of the Round of 32 is scheduled for Tuesday 29 July 2014.


Pot A (4 Hyundai A-League Semi Finalists)
1 Brisbane Roar
2 Central Coast Mariners
3 Melbourne Victory
4 Western Sydney Wanderers

Pot B (Other 6 Hyundai A-League clubs)
5 Adelaide United
6 Melbourne City
7 Newcastle Jets
8 Perth Glory
9 Sydney FC
10 Wellington Phoenix

Pot C (22 Member Federation clubs)

11 Tuggeranong United (ACT)

12 Blacktown City (NSW)

13 Hakoah Sydney City (NSW)

14 Manly United (NSW)

15 Parramatta FC (NSW)

16 South Coast Wolves (NSW)

17 Sydney Olympic (NSW)

18 Sydney United 58 FC (NSW)

19 Broadmeadow Magic (Northern NSW)

20 South Cardiff (Northern NSW)

21 Brisbane Strikers (Qld)

22 FNQ FC Heat (Qld)

23 Olympic FC (Qld)

24 Palm Beach Sharks (Qld)

25 Adelaide City (SA)

26 South Hobart (Tas)

27 Bentleigh Greens (Vic)

28 Melbourne Knights (Vic)

29 South Springvale (Vic)

30 St Albans Saints (Vic)

31 Bayswater City (WA)

32 Stirling Lions (WA)

Round of 32 Draw Process

1 Pot B (6 balls will be drawn alternatively out of Pot B)

Home then Away for the 3 Hyundai A-League v Hyundai A-League matches

2 Pot C (18 balls will be drawn alternatively out of Pot C)

Home then Away for the 9 Member Federation v Member Federation matches

3 Pot C & A (the remaining balls will be drawn alternatively from Pot C and Pot A)

Home (Pot C) then Away (Pot A) for the 4 Member Federation v Hyundai A-League matches