Spurs announce squad for Sydney clash

Superstars Harry Kane, Christian Eriksen, Hugo Lloris Erik Lamela and Andros Townsend have all been named in a strong Tottenham squad for Saturday night’s blockbuster friendly against Sydney FC at ANZ Stadium.  

Spurs announced their 22-man squad on Monday night, with only injured trio Younes Kaboul, Vlad Chiriches and Paulinho, as well as Emmanuel Adebayor and Etienne Capoue (family reasons) unavailable.

Kane is the biggest drawcard though after scoring more than 30 goals for the club this season in all competitions.

It was feared the prolific striker might miss the trip after he was named in England’s under-21 squad for the European Championships in the Czech Republic, which starts on June 17.

It is a short turnaround for Spurs, who only finished their Premier League campaign on Sunday with a 1-0 away win over Everton.

It was Tottenham's first victory at Goodison Park since February 2007, thanks to a first-half header from Kane, who nodded home Eric Dier's cross from the right touchline.

The positive result, coupled with Liverpool's 6-1 loss at Stoke City, means Mauricio Pochettino's side ends their campaign in fifth spot, sending them straight into the group stage for next season's Europa League.

The Spurs squad is:

Hugo Lloris

Luke McGee

Michel Vorm

Eric Dier

Federico Fazio

Danny Rose

Jan Vertonghen

Kyle Walker-Peters

DeAndre Yedlin

Nabil Bentaleb

Tom Carroll

Nacer Chadli

Christian Eriksen

Erik Lamela

Ryan Mason

Josh Onomah

Benji Stambouli

Andros Townsend

Grant Ward

Harry Winks

Harry Kane

Roberto Soldado

Before arriving in Australia Tottenham will play a Malaysia XI on Wednesday. The game against Sydney FC will be broadcast live on Channel 7.