Wanderers axe skipper Beauchamp in club clean-out

Western Sydney Wanderers' inaugural skipper Michael Beauchamp is among a host of foundation players not being re-signed by the club for next season.

The clean-out means Beauchamp, Shinji Ono, Youssouf Hersi, Jerome Polenz, Adam D’Apuzzo, Jerrad Tyson, Aaron Mooy, Tahj Minniecon, Dean Heffernan and Josh Barresi have all parted company with the club.

Ono, Mooy and Hersi have already signed with new clubs for next year but the release of Beauchamp signals coach Tony Popovic’s intention to overhaul the squad for the 2014/15 campaign.

Fans can expect an influx of new faces after Popovic took a broom to the successful two-season club which took out the A-League Premiership in its maiden year.

A disappointed Beauchamp, 33, paid tribute to the Wanderers and the fans for their support throughout his stint at Pirtek Stadium.

“It has been an honour leading the boys out there every week and it’s been an honour coming to train here with the team week in week out,” the former Socceroo said.

“We’ve shown in two years the level that we can take football to here in Australia, not only on the park but off the park with the community work, with the fans, with the RBB.

“For me it’s been an honour to represent this club and I’d like to thank the fans and the supporters.”

Solid performers D’Apuzzo - who was lured back into pro football by Popovic - and Polenz have are expected to attract interest from rival A-League clubs.

D’Apuzzo reignited his career at the Wanderers after spending a year out of the game pursuing accountancy and expressed his gratitude for the opportunity the club afforded him.

"The Wanderers would definitely be the highlight of my career," D'Apuzzo said.

"The way this club is in terms of the fans, the setup, the group of boys, the staff it just makes everything we did just seem better than anything I’ve ever done in my career.

“The fans here are second to none, even growing up watching football overseas I guess you see their crowds, but I don’t think they have the connection that we have with our fans."

Utility Dean Heffernan announced his retirement this week.

Western Sydney Wanderers Hyundai A-League squad for 2014/15 squad: 1. Ante Covic, 2. Shannon Cole, 4. Nikolai Topor-Stanley, 7. Labinot Haliti, 8. Mateo Poljak, 9. Tomi Juric, 11. Brendon Santalab, 13. Matthew Spiranovic, 14. Kwabena Appiah, 15. Yianni Perkatis, 18. Iacopo La Rocca, 19. Mark Bridge, 23. Jason Trifiro, 31. Alusine Fofanah, 32. Daniel Alessi, 33. Daniel Mullen, 34. Golgol Mebrahtu