The 5 WORST World Cup Golden Ball choices… and the player who should’ve won

Using the bookies as a barometer, Kylian Mbappe and Luka Modric are in a two-way tussle for Russia 2018’s Adidas Golden Ball. Yet if the award’s farcical history is anything to go by, don’t rule out the FIFA Technical Study Group (which comprises Emmanuel Amunike, Bora Milutinovic, Carlos Alberto Parreira, Andy Roxburgh and Marco van Basten), handing it to a dumbfounded German.

Since its introduction for the 1982 World Cup, these are the most head-scratching Golden Ball choices.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Mark White
Content Editor

Mark White is the Digital Content Editor at FourFourTwo. During his time on the brand, Mark has written three cover features on Mikel Arteta, Martin Odegaard and the Invincibles, and has written pieces on subjects ranging from Sir Bobby Robson’s time at Barcelona to the career of Robinho. An encyclopedia of football trivia and collector of shirts, he first joined the team back in 2020 as a staff writer.