FFA Cup draw: Balmain battlers to face A-League champs

NSW battlers Balmain Tigers are up for the fight of their life when they take on the reigning A-League champs Melbourne Victory in the FFA Cup Round of 32.

The Tigers, the lowest ranked club remaining in the national knockout comp, will host the topflight heavyweights who have come off a championship and premiership winning season.

Wednesday afternoon's live draw threw up a host of tantalising David and Goliath clashes and long distance marathons with inaugural Cup champs Adelaide United heading to the Northern Territory to face cup debutants Darwin Olympic.

Sydney FC will head to Western Australia to take on Sorrento FC (WA).

Western Sydney Wanderers, who were the only A-League outfit to fall to a Member Federation club last year, head north to battle Brisbane Roar steered by new coach John Aloisi.

Northern Territory football joins the comp for the first time with a total of 13 clubs making their debut.

The 16 matches will be split over three weeks (July 28 – Aug 12), with specific match details in regards to the dates, venues and kick-off times to be announced on Friday.


The Round of 32 live draw took place at Fox Sports HQ in Sydney.

Host Michael Zappone was joined by former Socceroo and foundation A-League defender, Michael Beauchamp, along with former South Melbourne striker and current head coach of the Bentleigh Greens, John Anastasiadis, who steered his team to the semi-finals of the inaugural Cup comp last year.

Four games will be scheduled per match day (Tuesday and/or Wednesday nights) with Fox Sports broadcasting one match live on each match day of the Round of 32, Round of 16 and Quarter Finals with single camera coverage at all other matches. Both semi finals and the FFA Cup decider will be broadcast live and exclusive on Fox Sports.

The nationwide competition kicked off in February with 648 entrants - 617 games later and the field is reduced to 10 A-League clubs, the PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2014 Champions (MetroStars from FFSA) who received automatic qualification to the Round of 32, and 21 Member Federation clubs.


Newcastle Jets  v Perth Glory

Central Coast Mariners v Wellington Phoenix

Western Sydney Wanderers v Brisbane Roar FC

Croydon Kings (SA) v Lions FC (QLD)

Hume City (VIC) v Brisbane Strikers (QLD)

Blacktown City (NSW) v Metrostars

Rockdale City Suns (NSW) v Perth SC (WA)

Oakleigh Cannons (VIC) v Far North Queensland Heat (QLD)

Palm Beach Sharks (QLD) v South Melbourne (VIC)

Sydney United (NSW) v South Hobart (TAS)

Gungahlin United (ACT) v Sydney Olympic (NSW)

Broadmeadow Magic (Northern NSW) v Heidelberg United (VIC)

Darwin Olympic (NT) v Adelaide United

Sorrento FC (WA) v Sydney FC

Balmain Tigers (NSW) v Melbourne Victory

Edgeworth FC (Northern NSW) v Melbourne City

Draw process

Pot A: The four A-League 2015 Semi Finalists - Adelaide United, Sydney FC, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory.

Pot B: The remaining six A-League clubs

Pot C:: The  22 Member Federation clubs

Phase 1

Pot B: (6 balls will be drawn alternatively out of Pot B)

Home then Away for the 3 Hyundai A-League club v Hyundai A-League club matches

Phase 2

Pot C (18 balls will be drawn alternatively out of Pot C)

Home then Away for the 9 Member Federation Club v Member Federation Club matches

Phase 3

Pot C and A (the remaining balls will be drawn alternatively from Pot C and Pot A)

Home (Pot C) then Away (Pot A) for the 4 Member Federation Club v Hyundai A-League Club matches

More to follow...