Victory's ACL group set as Shanghai smash Muangthong

Shanghai SIPG will become the first opponent that Melbourne Victory will need to overcome in their aim for Champions League glory after they defeated Muangthong United 3-0 overnight.

China international Wu Lei opened the scoring late in the first half, before strikes from Dario Conca and another from Lei settled the tie. 

It will be the Chinese club's first Asian Champions League appearance, and the team will debut alongside Victory, Japan's Gamba Osaka and South Korea's Suwon Bluewings.

Coach Sven-Goran Eriksson felt optimistic about his clubs chances and admitted he was looking forward to the clash against Victory.

"It is good to start with a win. Today we were the better side and created more chances and we had the upper hand in the game," said Shanghai coach Sven Goran Eriksson.

"They were quite good at the beginning, but we controlled the game for most of the time.

"In two weeks we will begin our formal ACL journey this season and our first opponent will be Melbourne. I wish we have a good result and qualify from the group."

AAMI Park will be known as Melbourne Rectangular Stadium for all 2016 AFC Champions League matches due to sponsorship rules.

Match Day 1

Melbourne Victory v Shanghai SIPG

Wednesday, February 24, 7.45pm AEDT

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Melbourne

Match Day 2

Gamba Osaka v Melbourne Victory

Wednesday, March 2, 9.00pm AEDT

Suita City Football Stadium, Japan

Match Day 3

Melbourne Victory v Suwon Bluewings

Tuesday, March 15, 7.45pm AEDT

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Melbourne

Match Day 4

Suwon Bluewings v Melbourne Victory

Wednesday, April 6, 8.30pm AEDT

Suwon World Cup Stadium, South Korea

Match Day 5

Shanghai SIPG v Melbourne Victory

Tuesday, April 19, TBC

Shanghai Stadium, China

Match Day 6

Melbourne Victory v Gamba Osaka

Tuesday, May 3, TBC

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Melbourne

AFC Champions League 2016

Group A: Foolad Mobarakeh Sepahan (IRN), Al Nasr (UAE), Lokomotiv (UZB), Al Ittihad (KSA)

Group B: Al Nassr (KSA), Zobahan (IRN), Lekhwiya (QAT), Bunyodkor (UZB)

Group C: Pakhtakor (UZB), Al Hilal (KSA), Tractorsazi Tabriz (IRN), Al Jazira (UAE)

Group D: Al Ain (UAE), Nasaf (UZB), Al Ahli (KSA), El Jaish (QAT)

Group E: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (KOR), Jiangsu Sainty (CHN), Becamex Binh Duong (VIE), FC Tokyo (JPN)

Group F: Sanfrecce Hiroshima (JPN), FC Seoul (KOR), Buriram United (THA), Shandong Luneng (CHN)

Group G: Melbourne Victory (AUS), Gamba Osaka (JPN), Suwon Bluewings (KOR), Shanghai SIPG (CHN)

Group H: Guangzhou Evergrande (CHN), Sydney FC (AUS), Urawa Red Diamonds (JPN), Pohang Steelers (KOR)