Aussies scoop the pool at AFC awards

Australian players, coaches, referees and clubs have scooped the pool at the AFC awards overnight in Manila winning a number of major awards.

Tony Popovic was awarded AFC Coach of the Year after guiding Western Sydney Wanderers FC to the ACL crown in November.


AFC Women’s Player of the Year was presented to Matildas playmaker Katrina Lee Gorry.

The Wanderers were also crowned Club of the Year after their fairytale run to the final in Riyadh where they defeated Al-Hilal over two legs. 

Socceroo skipper Mile Jedinak was given the accolade of International Player of the Year after a standout season with Crystal Palace, while Matthew Cream was awarded Assistant Referee of the Year.

Retired Aussie legend Harry Kewell also became was one of the first 10 players inducted into the AFC Hall of Fame which was inaugurated during the ceremenony.