PFA A-League Team of the Decade: What's your verdict?

What’s the point of naming a Team of the Decade if it doesn’t stir up a hornets’ nest of controversy?

Job done then for Professional Footballers Australia, who had the unenviable task of pulling together the best A-League team over the past 10 years.

Former Sydney FC marquee Alessandro Del Piero was named among the 125 greatest living footballers but didn’t get a jersey in this starting XI.

Meanwhile another former Sky Blues star and EPL legend, Dwight Yorke, missed the cut altogether.

But the biggest howls of protest were saved for five-time championship, four-time premiership and three-time A-League Goalkeeper of the Year winner, Michael Theo, who was relegated to the bench.

And the choice of combative former Victory skipper now coach, Kevin Muscat, as captain took the wind out of some non-Victory fans.

Selected by more than 400 former and current A-League players, participants were asked to vote for their starting XI in a 4-3-3 formation, five substitutes, a coach and referee of the decade. 

So what do you think of the PFA A-League Team of the Decade?

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic

Defenders: Cassio, Kevin Muscat (C), Patrick Zwaanswijk, Ivan Franjic

Midfielders: Matt McKay, Carlos Hernandez, Thomas Broich 

Forwards: Archie Thompson, Besart Berisha, Shane Smeltz

Substitutes: Michael Theo (GK), Adama Traore, Mark Milligan, Steve Corica, Alessandro Del Piero

Coach: Ange Postecoglou

Referee: Strebre Delovski

Players had to have played in at least two seasons in the A-League to be eligible for selection.

Muscat, a two-time Championship and Premiership winning defender, said it was a privilege to have been named in the players’ team. 

“It's an incredible honour to be selected in the PFA A-League Team of the Decade and I am extremely proud to also be named captain,” he said.

“To be nominated by my peers, both past and present, is extremely humbling and something that I take great pride in.

“I would like to thank Melbourne Victory for giving me the opportunity to return to Australia back in 2005. I have nothing but respect for everyone who has been associated with the club and I look forward to what the future holds. I would also like to thank my teammates for their support over the years. They were a privilege to play with and it's great to see so many of them included in the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

“Finally, I would like to congratulate all of the players who have been named in the Team of the Decade. Each of them has made a tremendous impact on the A-League and it's fitting that their contributions are recognised in this way.”

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian hailed the team and said all of them had made an enormous contribution to the success of the A-League. 

“The aim of the PFA A-League Team of the Decade was to recognise the outstanding contribution the players have made to the competition and these players are all certainly worthy of the highest form of recognition,” Vivian said. 

“To have won 25 A-League Championships between them highlights just how big their contribution has been, and the impact they have made. 

The team was announced at a Gala event tonight, Monday April 27, at the Australian National Maritime Museum, the team was unveiled in front of a host of current and former A-League stars.