Road to the 2015 FFA Cup Final: Melbourne Victory

Melbourne Victory will host the 2015 FFA Cup Final on Saturday night and we take a look back at their road to AAMI Park. 

Round of 32: Balmain Tigers 0-6 Melbourne Victory

Kevin Muscat's men kicked off their FFA Cup campaign in emphatic fashion with a 6-0 thumping of NSW side Balmain Tigers at Leichardt Oval. There were six different scorers for the Victory, with Besart Berisha and Connor Pain scoring in the first-half and Kosta Barbarouses, Daniel Georgievski, George Howard and Fahid Ben Khalfallah finding the net in the second period. 

Round of 16: Rockdale City Suns 2-3 Melbourne Victory

The next round proved a much more difficult task for the reigning A-League champions. Victory had a 2-0 lead on 50 minutes after goals to Berisha and Jesse Makarounas but a penalty just three minutes later saw former Newcastle Jet Marco Jesic pull a goal back for the NPL side. Makarounas made it 3-1 12 minutes later but a late Leigh Broxham own goal set up a very tense finish at Jubilee Oval.

Road to the 2015 FFA Cup Final: Perth Glory

Quarter-Finals: Melbourne Victory 3-1 Adelaide United

This was Melbourne Victory's first ever home game in the FFA Cup and they capped it off with a win against rivals Adelaide United. A beautiful free-kick from Gui Finkler gave Victory the perfect start before Kosta Barbarouses made it 2-0 just before the break. A Marcelo Carrusca penalty brought the game back to within a goal with 12 minutes to play but Berisha scored a spot-kick of his own just minutes later to seal the club's passage into the semi-finals. 

Semi-Finals: Hume City 0-3 Melbourne Victory

Despite being classed as the home side, Hume City elected for the semi-final to be played at AAMI Park rather than their own stadium to generate a higher revenue. The plan back-fired, with Victory's home field advantage showing in the end as they completed a fairly comfortable 3-0 win over the NPL side. Berisha scored in his fourth consecutive game to open the scoring before late goals from Barbarouses and Jason Geria secured the win.