Sydney's Dimitrijevic takes out awards trifecta

Sydney FC midfielder Milos Dimitrijevic has swept the board at the Sky Blue Ball, Sydney FC’s glamorous annual red carpet event. 

The Serbian picked up the Player of the Year award, the Players’ Player of the Year award and the Members’ Player of the Year award - the first time the same person has picked up all three.


In a night celebrating 10 years of Hyundai A-League football, Sydney FC also named its prestigious ‘Team of the Decade’.

The team featured players who have graced Sky Blues’ squads from 2005 until 2015 and was voted for by members who chose from a shortlist picked by a panel of experts. 

The panel included long serving club officials, football journalists, members and fans with connections to the club who delved through all 127 names to provide three players per position to line up in a four-four-two diamond formation.

And for once Dimitrijevic wasn’t in the starting XI. Neither was inaugural marquee Dwight Yorke.

Premiership and Championship winner Vitezslav Lavicka was named coach and Steve Corica captain.

Sydney FC Team of the Decade

Goalkeeper: Clint Bolton.

Left back: Alvin Ceccoli.

Centre backs: Simon Colosimo, Mark Rudan

Right back: Sebastian Ryall.

Defensive midfielder: Terry McFlynn.

Left midfielder: Alex Brosque.

Right midfielder: Karol Kisel.

Attacking midfielder: Steve Corica (c).

Striker: Alessandro Del Piero, Marc Janko.

Subs: Vedran Janjetovic, Byun Sung-hwan, Milos Dimitrijevic, Terry Antonis, Dwight Yorke.

Captain of the Team of the Decade, and Hall of Fame Member, Steve Corica, said it was an honour to be named in the squad as he reflected fondly on the 10 years of A-League football with the Sky Blues.

“To make the Sydney FC Team of the Decade is a great achievement,” Corica said.

“It’s a proud moment, I love this club and to be voted for by the members is a recognition I’m very proud of.

"To be named captain as well is something I'm truly humbled by. I've had the pleasure of playing with and working with all of the players in this squad and I can say that they are all deserving members of this team and their place in Sydney FC history."

Marc Janko picked up the Sydney FC Golden Boot while long serving head physio Stan Ivancic and equipment manager Joe Niutta were presented with the Chairman’s Award after 10 years of loyal service.

Westfield W-League import Jasmyne Spencer earned the Sydney FC W-League Players' Player of the Year award following her scintillating form for the Sky Blues that saw her score eight goals in 13 games en-route to the W-League semi-finals while National Youth League Golden Boot George Blackwood earned the Sydney FC Youth League Players' Player of the Year award.

Sky Blue midfielder Dimitrijevic was delighted to have picked up a treble of accolades following a stellar 2014/15 season that has seen him become a lynchpin of Graham Arnold's squad.

"To win such trophies at a big club like Sydney FC is very special and I am glad that I could help the team reach our goals for this season,” he said.

“Now we must focus on the A-League Finals Series and look to achieve our goal of winning the Grand Final.”

Hosted by Network 10’s Mel McLaughlin and Fox Sports’ Matt Russell the Sky Blue Ball highlighted all the achievements of the Hyundai A-League, Westfield W-League and the Foxtel National Youth League players from the current season.

Entertainment was provided by the winner of the last season of Channel Nine’s hit show The Voice, singer/songwriter Anja Nissen who performed her new single ‘I’m So Excited’  featuring her mentor from the show together with Cody Wise.

Sydney FC are next in action in their elimination semi-final on Saturday May 9 at Allianz Stadium.