Zlamal insists he did not foul Edouard for Celtic penalty in Scottish Cup final

Hearts goalkeeper Zdenek Zlamal insists he did not touch Odsonne Edouard before the Frenchman went down to win the penalty that proved the turning point in the William Hill Scottish Cup final.

Zlamal was penalised by referee Willie Collum for bringing the Celtic striker down and Edouard squeezed home the spot-kick to cancel out Ryan Edwards’ opener.

Edouard went on to slot home the winner in the 82nd minute and clinch the treble treble for Celtic to leave Hearts dejected after a battling display.

Zlamal said: “For me it’s absolutely not a penalty. I’m 100 per cent sure that I didn’t touch him. But the referee said penalty.

“It’s very disappointing as well because I touched the ball, but it went in. It was the most important reason why we didn’t beat Celtic.

“I think we played very well the whole game but football is about small details and Celtic were more lucky. It was a big opportunity and we felt that we should win, but I have to repeat it wasn’t a penalty.

“I didn’t touch him and I’m absolutely sure I didn’t touch him.”

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

FourFourTwo Staff

FourFourTwo was launched in 1994 on the back of a World Cup that England hadn’t even qualified for. It was an act of madness… but it somehow worked out. Our mission is to offer our intelligent, international audience access to the game’s biggest names, insightful analysis... and a bit of a giggle. We unashamedly love this game and we hope that our coverage reflects that.