Cahill ruled out of Socceroos friendlies

Socceroo striker Tim Cahill will miss the upcoming friendlies against Germany and FYR Macedonia due to a persistent Achilles tendon injury.

The 35-year-old, a veteran of three World Cups, would have provided much-needed experience to the youthful line-up as they take on the World Champions in Kaiserslautern on Thursday morning (AEDT).

Australia's all-time highest goal scorer has a minor ongoing issue with his Achilles tendon.

Following yesterday's club match for Shanghai Greenland Shenhua FC, Socceroos staff decided it was best for the 35-year-old to undergo rehab in China.

Cahill’s place in the squad has been taken by Swiss-based Oliver Bozanic, whose last appearance for the Socceroos was at the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

The Socceroos earlier replaced injured Western Sydney Wanderers defender Matthew Spiranovic with Bailey Wright, who plays for League One side Preston North End.

Socceroo Match Details

Germany v Australia

Fritz-Walter-Stadion, Kaiserslautern

Wednesday 25 March 2015

Kick-Off: 8:30pm (CET) (6:30am (AEDT), Thursday 26 March)

FYR Macedonia v Australia

National Arena Philip II of Macedonia Stadium, Skopje, FYR Macedonia

Monday 30 March 2015

Kick-Off: 9.00pm (CEST) (6:00am (AEDT), Tuesday 31 March