Mark Viduka inducted into Hall of Fame

Socceroo legend and 2006 World Cup hero Mark Viduka was one of five Australian football greats inducted into the FFA Hall of Fame on Tuesday night.

Viduka was joined by another retired Socceroo giant in Damian Mori, former Matilda pioneer Sandra Brentnall, AFC Women’s Asian Cup winning Matildas Coach Tom Sermanni and long-time football administrator Stefan Kamasz.

The induction ceremony was held at Coopers Stadium prior to the inaugural FFA Cup Final.

FFA CEO David Gallop paid tribute to the unique contributions that each of the inductees made to Australian football.

“Tonight we honour the meritorious service to the game of five people who made a substantial and sustained contribution at the national and international level,” Gallop said.

“Each of this year’s inductees are truly worthy of this recognition and each in their own way is a pioneer. Induction into the Hall of Fame is an honour that connects the greats of the past with the stars of the present.

"I'm guided by the old adage that those who drink from the well today should recognise those of yesteryear who found the water. In this way, the game's history is always a part of our journey.

“Sandra Brentnall was one of the originals who played in the Matildas first ever A-International match against New Zealand in 1979.

“Damian Mori was the Socceroos most prolific goal-scorer up until Tim Cahill recently surpassed his tally.

“Mark Viduka captained the Socceroos at the 2006 FIFA World Cup and had a distinguished domestic football career in Australia and Europe.

“Tom Sermanni coached the Matildas to our first continental title winning the 2010 AFC Women’s Asian Cup and developing countless players during his tenure, and Stefan Kamasz helped administer the sport through the tough times and the good for nearly 40 years.”

“Without the contributions of people like this in our sport, we would not be where we are today and for those efforts the whole football family is truly thankful.”

The newest inductees to the Hall of Fame were presented to the capacity crowd at Cooper’s Stadium during half-time in the final between Adelaide United and Perth Glory.