Young Socceroos to take on Chile and USA

Young Socceroos Head Coach Paul Okon has selected 20 Australian-based players in his squad for the 2014 NTC Invitational tournament at US Soccer’s National Training Centre in Carson, California.

The training camp and international friendly matches ((14-18 July 2014) against the USA, Chile and Bermuda will form an important part of the Young Socceroos’ preparations for the AFC U-19 Championship in Myanmar in October.

The U-19 Championsip doubles as the qualification tournament for the FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand which will be held in July 2015.

Okon said he was looking forward to the US tour and matches against quality opposition.

“The invitation to play in this tournament came a couple of months ago and we didn’t hesitate in accepting this opportunity to play three competitive matches at this stage of our preparations,” Okon said.

“Our players are currently in pre-season mode and this camp will be a good chance to see where they are currently at and what we will need to work on for the next phase of our campaign.

“The opposition will be challenging, but the more we play together the better prepared we will be for the AFC U-19 Championships“,” concluded Okon.

The Young Socceroos will play their opening match of the tournament against Bermuda on Monday July 14 (kick-off 1pm Pacific Time).

The match against Chile will take place two days later on Wednesday July 16 (kick-off 1pm Pacific Time) followed by the final match against host nation USA is on Friday July 18 (kick-off 7pm Pacific Time).

The Aussies' match against the USA will be streamed live on

The Young Socceroos will fly out from Australia on next Wednesday for a four-day training camp before the tournament.

Young Socceroos Squad List – USA Tour – 9 to 21 July 2014

Daniel ALESSI (Western Sydney Wanderers), Shannon BRADY (Brisbane Roar), Brandon BORRELLO (Brisbane Roar), Jordan BROWN (Melbourne Victory), Devante CLUT  (Brisbane Roar), Daniel De SILVA (Perth Glory), Shayne D’CUNHA (Blacktown City, NSW NPL), Scott GALLOWAY (Melbourne Victory), Ben GARUCCIO (Melbourne City), Hagi GLIGOR (Sydney FC), Paul IZZO (gk, Adelaide United), Awer MABIL (Adelaide United), Marc MARINO (Campbelltown City, SA NPL), Stefan MAUK (Melbourne City), Christopher NAUMOFF (Sydney FC), Liam ROSE (Central Coast Mariners), Jaushua SOTORIO (Western Sydney Wanderers), Jordan THURTELL (gk, Perth Glory), Benjamin WARLAND (Adelaide United), Riley WOODCOCK (Perth Glory).