Jedinak, Gorry named Australian footballers of the year

Mile Jedinak and Katrina Gorry have been named Australia’s top Male and Female Footballers of the Year for 2014, adding to their recent AFC honours.

Jedinak claimed the FFA award for the second consecutive year.

The Socceroos skipper was rewarded for his outstanding performances as the captain of Premier League side Crystal Palace and leading Australia at the World Cup in Brazil.

The 30-year-old's latest accolade comes hot on the heels of being named Asia’s International Player of the Year.

For Gorry, nicknamed 'Mini', 2014 was a giant of year - her Australian gong now a twin set with her AFC Women’s Player of the Year Award which was presented in Manila.

Gorry is a leading member of the Matildas – runners-up at the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in Vietnam last July.

While at club level her team, Brisbane Roar FC, failed to figure in the W-League finals series, the 22-year-old was a standout performer for the Queensland outfit, scoring twice in the final two rounds of the season.

In the other professional category awards, Female U20 Footballer of the Year went to Matildas and Perth Glory star Samantha Kerr, while Adelaide United livewire Awer Mabil picked up the male equivalent.

The awards are decided on votes by the national team coaches and FFA technical and coaching staff.

2014 FFA Footballer of the Year Awards

Footballer of the Year (male): Mile Jedinak, Crystal Palace FC

Footballer of the Year (female): Katrina Gorry, Brisbane Roar FC

U20 Footballer of the Year (male): Awer Mabil, Adelaide United

U20 Footballer of the Year (female): Samantha Kerr, Perth Glory