Championship clubs 2019-20

(Image credit: PA)

The English Football League (EFL) Championship is the highest tier of the Football League, and second-highest overall in England. 

From 1888 to 1992, it was known as the Football League First Division; from 1992 to 2004, it became the Football League Second Division. Thanks for the confusion, guys. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

FourFourTwo staff