Skip to main content

Germany Women's Euro 2022 squad: Who is heading to England?

Germany Women's Euro 2022 squad
(Image credit: Getty Images)

The final Germany Women’s Euro 2022 squad has been announced with manager Martina Voss-Tecklenburg selecting 23 players to go the tournament in England. 

Germany Women's Euro 2022 squad: The final 23 player squad

GK: Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea)

GK: Merle Frohms (Eintracht Frankfurt)

GK: Almuth Schult (Wolfsburg)

DF: Sara Doorsoun (Eintracht Frankfurt)

DF: Giulia Gwinn (Bayern Munich)

DF: Marina Hegering (Bayern Munich)

DF: Kathrin Hendrich (Wolfsburg)

DF: Sophia Kleinherne (Eintracht Frankfurt)

DF: Felicitas Rauch (Wolfsburg)

MF: Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)

MF: Svenja Huth (Wolfsburg)

MF: Sara Däbritz (Paris St-Germain)

MF: Linda Dallmann (Bayern Munich)

MF: Lena Lattwein (Wolfsburg)

MF: Lina Magull (Bayern Munich)

FW: Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)

FW: Nicole Anyomi (Eintracht Frankfurt)

FW: Jule Brand (Hoffenheim)

FW: Laura Freigang (Bayern Munich)

FW: Sydney Lohmann (Bayern Munich)

FW: Lea Schüller (Bayern Munich)

FW: Tabea Waßmuth (Wolfsburg)

FW: Klara Bühl (Bayern Munich)

Germany Women’s Euro 2022 squad: Team preview

Historically, the Euros has been Germany’s competition with the club winning it a record eight times, including a run of six consecutive championships from 1995 to 2013. However, 2017 was their lowest ever finish when they failed to make the semi-finals.

There is likely to be a lot of exciting talent in the Germany Euro 2022 squad with plenty of young players coming through into the national team over the past couple of years. Going forward, the Bayern Munich trio of Lea Schüller, Klara Bühl, and Sydney Lohmann are all very highly rated whilst 19 year old Jule Brand has already signed a deal with Wolfsburg off the back of her mesmerising performances for Hoffenheim. Meanwhile Wolfsburg’s Tabea Waßmuth is currently the Champions League’s top scorer with nine goals in this season’s competition.

Germany will however be without Chelsea midfielder Melanie Leupolz at the tournament after she announced earlier this year that she was pregnant with her first child. Dzsenifer Marozsán will also be absent after she had surgery on her knee.

Germany Women’s Euro 2022 squad: Who is Germany’s captain?

Alexandra Popp

Alexandra Popp has been captain of Germany since February 2019. The Wolfsburg forward has scored 53 goals in 113 caps for Germany, and has twice been named Germany’s footballer of the year. She also completed a three year apprenticeship to be a zookeeper.

Germany Women's Euro 2022 squad: Who is Germany’s best player?

Lea Schüller

Lea Schüller, the 24 year old Bayern Munich striker, has established herself as one of the most well-rounded forwards in the women’s game. She is lethal when she gets a sight of goal and has scored 25 times in 38 appearances for her national team.

Germany Women’s Euro 2022 squad: Who is Germany’s manager?

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg won the Euros four times in a row as a player for Germany. She first managed Germany at the 2019 World Cup, having previously been the Switzerland manager, where they were knocked out by Sweden at the quarter-final stage. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1