Antonis, Yeboah out of Olyroos qualifiers

Terry Antonis and Kwame Yeboah have been officially ruled out of the Olyroos squad that will launch Australia’s bid for the 2016 Rio Olympics on Friday.

The injured players have been replaced by Sydney FC striker and National Youth League Golden Boot George Blackwood and Western Sydney striker Jaushua Sotorio.

Sotorio's selection follows a lively performance in Wanderers 2-1 loss to Newcastle Jets on Saturday.

The Olyroos action gets underway this Friday with the AFC U-23 Championship Qualifiers in Chinese Taipei.

To progress to the Championship, the Olyroos need to finish top of Group F or be one of the best five second place teams.

The Championship will be played in Qatar in 2016, doubling as the qualification tournament for the Olympic Games.

Only the top three ranked teams from the Championship will make it to Rio.

Olyroos squad for AFC U-23 Championship Qualifiers - Group F

Mustafa AMINI, Borussia Dortmund, Germany

George BLACKWOOD, Sydney FC, Australia

Josh BRILLANTE, Empoli, Italy

Corey BROWN, Brisbane Roar, Australia

Cameron BURGESS, Ross County, Scotland

Daniel DE SILVA, Perth Glory, Australia

James DONACHIE, Brisbane Roar, Australia

Jack DUNCAN (gk), Perth Glory, Australia

Ryan EDWARDS, Reading FC, England

Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO, Swansea FC, England

Scott GALLOWAY, Melbourne Victory, Australia

Jason GERIA, Melbourne Victory, Australia

John HALL (gk), Adelaide United, Australia

Andrew HOOLE, Newcastle Jets, Australia

Jackson IRVINE, Ross County, Scotland

Aaron LENNOX (gk), Queens Park Rangers, England

Jamie MACLAREN, Perth Glory, Australia

Connor PAIN, Melbourne Victory, Australia

Brad SMITH, Liverpool, England

Jaushua SOTORIO, Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia

Adam TAGGART, Fulham FC, England

Steven UGARKOVIC, NK Osijek, Croatia

Ryan WILLIAMS, Fulham FC, England


AFC U-23 Championship Qualifiers – Group F – National Stadium, Kaohsiung City

March 27

Australia v Hong Kong

4pm (7pm AEDT)

Myanmar v Chinese Taipei

7pm (10pm AEDT)

March 29

Hong Kong v Myanmar

4pm (7pm AEDT)

Chinese Taipei v Australia

7pm (10pm AEDT)

March 31

Australia v Myanmar

4pm (7pm AEDT)

Chinese Taipei v Hong Kong       

7pm (10pm AEDT)