Perth claim Glory in W-League

Perth Glory have romped to their first W-League premiership with two games to spare after notching up their ninth win in 10 starts.

The Glory are now 10 points clear at the summit of the league after a storming 5-0 home win over Western Sydney Wanderers.

A brace to Sam Kerr brace, plus goals from Collette McCallum, Marianna Tabain and Kate Gill sealed the points and the trophy.


Prior to the match coach Jamie Harnwell said the team had delivered well beyond their original goal which was to qualify for the semi-finals.

“This week the aim is to win the league,” he said and they promptly did.

Glory scored a club record 10-1 win over the Wanderers last month and made easy work of their opponents again on Saturday.

The chasing pack included three teams on 17 points, separated only by goal difference: Melbourne Victory, Sydney FC and Canberra United.

Victory, who have played one more game, jumped into second with a 2-1 win that ended the title aspirations of two-time champions Brisbane Roar.

Christine Nairn scored the winner 10 minutes from full time as the result between the pair ensured the charge towards the semi-finals became a five-way race.

Sydney FC inched into third and in front of Canberra in the push for a home semi-final with a one-sided 5-0 victory over Adelaide United on Friday evening.

While Canberra slipped to fourth as they played out a dramatic 3-3 draw on the road against fifth-placed Newcastle Jets.