Sydney FC claim Townsville Football Cup

Sydney FC have been crowned the inaugural winners of the Townsville Football Cup after taking out the final with a 2-0 win over reigning A-League Champions Brisbane Roar.

The Sky Blues made it three wins from three games in the tournament following victories over Northern Fury (3-1) and Newcastle Jets (4-2).

In-front of over 4000 fans at Townsville Sports Reserve on Saturday night, Corey Gameiro and Marc Janko were on target to secure the win.

Gameiro has been in blistering form in pre-season and he continued his goal-scoring feats with a diving header from an Alex Brosque cross on 28 minutes.

The goal meant the forward finished the tournament as the highest scorer with a total of four goals in three games. 

The result was put beyond doubt with fifteen minutes left to play with Austrian striker Janko scoring his first Sydney FC goal. 

The 31-year-old showed composure to pick his spot with a left-footed strike in to the bottom corner of Michael Theo's goal. 

Sydney FC coach Graham Arnold was happy with the performance but believes his side is still only at 50%.

“It’s great for confidence," Arnold said. "We’ve made a lot of changes around the squad and it’s great to see the players are buying into that.  

“I’d like to give full credit to the players who worked extremely hard this week however I think we’re still only at 50%.  

“Form at the minute means nothing, I’m just delighted that we’ve had a wonderful ten days up here, fitness has been the key ingredient, we still have a lot of work to do on the training field but we go home with no injuries.

“It’s great to win the Townsville Cup but at the end of the day I’d rather be holding a different trophy up in May next year.”