Victory youth coach snapped up by Young Socceroos

Melbourne Victory youth league coach Darren Davies has been snapped up as Paul Okon’s assistant coach for the Young Socceroos.

Davies, who will continue his role at Victory, kicked of his new part time post immediately with the U-20s heading into camp in Melbourne next week.

Victory head coach, Kevin Muscat, said Davies had his full support.

“The opportunity for Darren to work with the national under 20’s squad is a well-deserved one and I am sure he’ll prove to be a valuable acquisition to the coaching staff,” Muscat said.

“From a personal point of view, Darren’s appointment has my full support and I am delighted that it won’t change his role as youth head coach at Melbourne Victory in any way, enabling him to continue the fine work he has put into that area of our club over several years.

“It’s a credit to Darren that his coaching acumen has been acknowledged and in turn, he has now been introduced to the national program.”

Football Federation Australia Head of National Performance, Luke Casserly, welcomed Davies to the national team set-up.

“Darren has been identified as a talented young coach through his work with Melbourne Victory and also various coaching courses, bringing coaching acumen and a valuable knowledge of the young elite players throughout Australia.

“Darren will assist Paul Okon through the next World Cup cycle (U20s) and will continue to work with Victory during this period. We would like to thank Melbourne Victory for the professional way they handled the discussions to give us an outcome that allows Darren to assist the National Program and continue his work at club level.”

Davies described the appointment as an honour.

“I am really looking forward to being involved in the national football program and further developing the best young talent in the country,” he said.

The Young Socceroos squad for next week’s camp is:

Daniel ALESSI (Western Sydney Wanderers), Bai ANTONIOU (Sutherland Sharks NSW), Thomas DENG (Melbourne Victory), Patrick FLOTTMAN (Blacktown City NSW), Alusine FOFANAH (Western Sydney Wanderers), Luke GALLO (Melbourne City), Alex GERSBACH (Sydney FC), Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (Western Sydney Wanderers), Michael HOLDEN (Devonport Strikers TAS), Anthony KALIK (Central Coast Mariners), Tariq MAIA (Sydney United 58 NSW), Jake MAMONE (Blacktown City NSW), Daniel MARGUSH (Adelaide United), George MELLS (Adelaide United), William MUTCH (Blacktown Spartans NSW), Dejan PANDUREVIC (Manly United NSW), Lachlan ROBERTS (Sydney United 58 NSW), Liam ROSE (Central Coast Mariners), Bon SCOTT (Western Pride QLD), Lachlan SCOTT (Apia Leichhardt NSW), George TIMOTHEOU (Blacktown City NSW), Liam YOULLEY (Western Sydney Wanderers), Chris ZUVELA (Sydney United 58 NSW).