8 great players we can't believe have never won Premier League Player of the Month

Patrick Vieira

Thierry Henry, Wayne Rooney and even Peter Odemwingie have scooped the top flight's individual award several times. But none of these eight stars have. Ever... 

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

SEE ALSO These 12 players who somehow DID win the award instead of this lot...

8. David de Gea

Manchester United’s player of the season for a club-record three successive seasons. A Premier League, FA Cup, League Cup, Community Shield (hey, it's major trophy - when Jose wants it to be) and Europa League winner. Yet he's apparently never been the league's best player in a calendar month.

De Gea joined the Old Trafford club in 2011 and has long passed 300 appearances. In this time, he's won five of the six Match of the Day 'Save of the Season' competitions, and in December 2017 pulled off a Premier League record-equalling 14 saves in one match against Arsenal. Still not enough. 

7. Patrick Vieira

The French midfield general and Arsenal legend didn’t ever pick up a POTM award, despite winning the Premier League Player of the Season accolade in 2000/01. Vieira became club captain in 2002 and led the ‘Invincibles’ to the 2003/04 crown, where he scored the winner on the final day against Leicester.

In the following season – Vieira’s last at the club, and which culminated in his winning penalty in the FA Cup final shoot-out – the Frenchman scored in the 5-4 win over rivals Tottenham in November, as well as in defeat at Liverpool later that month.

6. Vincent Kompany

Another Premier League Player of the Season in a title-winning campaign: step forward, Vincent Kompany. The central defender was an absolute colossus for Roberto Mancini’s side as they won a first Premier League title in 2011/12. The Belgian made 31 league appearances that season and scored three goals.

The most crucial of these was the only goal of April's Manchester derby, as City took a major step towards an historic triumph. Kompany was plagued with injuries since, and City fans sadly won't ever see the Belgian back to his imperious best again as they continue moving to greater heights. 

5. Peter Schmeichel

Schmeichel won five Premier League winners' medals during his time at Manchester United and was an instrumental part of the 1998/99 treble-winning side. The Great Dane also won United's player-of-the-season prize in 1995/96 as Alex Ferguson's side pipped Kevin Keegan’s Newcastle to the title.

But oddly, it was during his one season at Aston Villa that the goalkeeper should probably have been awarded POTM – specifically, October 2001. In that month, Villa won three of their four matches, keeping two clean sheets. The 3-2 defeat to Everton really sticks out, though, as Schmeichel became the first goalkeeper to score in a Premier League game. But the then-Leeds defender Rio Ferdinand merked him to the prize.