Ranked! The 10 best Premier League teams EVER

Manchester City 2017/18

Manchester City have cemented their status as long-term legends with 100 points – but how do they stack up against this lot? Michael Cox assesses the greatest title winners in England's top flight since 1992

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

10. Manchester United (2007/08)

A truly remarkable side that simply had everything. Edwin van der Sar was back to his peak, while Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic were the best centre-back combination in Europe.

Further forward, Paul Scholes, Owen Hargreaves and Michael Carrick were arguably the three most intelligent English central midfielders of their generation, while the attacking trio of Cristiano Ronaldo, Carlos Tevez and Wayne Rooney rotated at will, keeping the opposition guessing. Ronaldo, in particular, was simply unstoppable – this campaign helped him win the Ballon d’Or.

The supporting cast were particularly impressive: the likes of Park Ji-sung, Darren Fletcher and John O’Shea weren’t the most revered players, but were intelligent tactical options who helped nullify opponents as part of Sir Alex Ferguson’s increasingly sophisticated gameplans. In truth, though, this United were a better European side than a Premier League side – they only defeated Avram Grant’s Chelsea side by two points.

9. Manchester United (1999/2000)

It seems criminal to include this side rather than the famous treble winners of the previous season – the 1998/99 side’s achievements were clearly more memorable, of course.

But in 1999/2000 Manchester United improved their points tally by 12 and scored 17 extra goals. Whereas in 1998/99 they required a final day comeback to sneak the title by a point, in 1999/2000 they triumphed by 18 points; a ridiculous margin.

It was largely the same team as the treble-winners: the best midfield quartet of the Premier League era in David Beckham, Paul Scholes, Roy Keane and Ryan Giggs; further forward the partnership of Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke backed up by super-subs Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer. Mikael Silvestre provided extra pace at the back, and the only weakness was in goal, where Mark Bosnich proved an underwhelming replacement for Peter Schmeichel.

8. Leicester (2015/16)

Leicester’s remarkable title victory was so unexpected that it feels somehow impossible to compare it to the big boys’ successes – yet forget about them being underdogs, and it’s nevertheless a hugely dominant title victory, by an impressive 10 points. Leicester lost only three times all season.

Claudio Ranieri’s side ripped up the rulebook – whereas others were obsessed with possession play, Leicester were almost pure counter-attackers. Jamie Vardy broke the Premier League record for scoring in consecutive games, Riyad Mahrez was the league’s best player – capable of scoring, creating and assisting – while N’Golo Kante was a revelation, repopularising the tough-tackling, all-action defensive midfielder.

But overall this was a brilliant team, among the best defensive units the Premier League has seen in the second half of the season. When asked questions they always came up with the answers – pressing higher or going more direct with supersub Leo Ulloa. The most extraordinarily unlikely title winners, they’re also among the best.

7. Manchester United (1993/94)

Manchester United were serial title winners during the Premier League’s formative years, but this was their most dominant triumph of the 1990s: a brilliant, formidable, consistent side. They were top of the table after 40 of their 42 matches.

Tactically, it was considered a 4-4-2, although they were perhaps the first 4-2-3-1 Premier League side. Newcomer Roy Keane formed a terrifying midfield partnership with Paul Ince; both box-to-box midfielders rather than holders. Two of Lee Sharpe, Andrei Kanchelskis and Ryan Giggs provided speed out wide, while up front, the magnificent Eric Cantona orchestrated play behind a good old-fashioned targetman, Mark Hughes.

The back four was barely ever broken up – Denis Irwin was ever-present, centre-back duo Steve Bruce and Gary Pallister missed one game apiece, Paul Parker just two. Oh, and Peter Schmeichel was the league’s best goalkeeper. No one stood a chance.