When is the Champions League group stage draw, how does it work and how can you watch it?

Champions League
(Image credit: PA)

The Champions League group stage begins on October 20, as elite clubs from across Europe, including Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City and Chelsea, once again begin their quest for continental glory.

Today, each team will find out which opponents they will face first in this season's competition when the group stage draw takes place in Nyon, Switzerland.

Looking for the full completed Champions League group stage draw? You can find it here

When will the Champions League group stage draw take place?

The Champions League 2020/21 group stage draw takes place on Thursday, October 1 at 4pm BST. 

The Europa League group stage draw will take place the following day on Friday, October 2, with Leicester and Arsenal the representatives from the Premier League.

ALSO READ New Champions League ball: What Europe's elite will be playing with in the group stage

How can I watch the Champions League group stage draw?

The draw will be shown live on UEFA.com, with British viewers also able to watch on BT Sport 1, where every Champions League game this season will be shown.

If you don't have a BT Sport subscription, you can get an online monthly pass for £25 here (opens in new tab).

GUIDE How to get BT Sport on Now TV – and watch every Champions League and Europa League game on your TV

You can also follow the draw live on Twitter at @FourFourTwo (opens in new tab).

How many teams are in the Champions League group stage and who is in each pot?

As always, 32 teams feature in the Champions League, split into four pots, which the teams will be drawn from. Each of the eight groups will feature one team from each pot, and teams from the same country cannot be drawn in the same group.

For a fuller explanation of the system, as well as the probabilities of who each side will face, read this.

Pot 1

Bayern (GER), UEFA Champions League holders
Sevilla (ESP), UEFA Europa League holders
Real Madrid (ESP)
Liverpool (ENG)
Juventus (ITA)
Zenit (RUS)
Porto (POR)

Pot 2

Barcelona (ESP)
Atlético Madrid (ESP)
Manchester City (ENG)
Manchester United (ENG)
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Dortmund (GER)
Chelsea (ENG)
Ajax (NED) 

Pot 3

Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
Salzburg (AUT)
RB Leipzig (GER)
Internazionale (ITA)
Olympiacos (GRE)
Lazio (ITA)
Krasnodar (RUS)
Atalanta (ITA) 

Pot 4

Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS)
Marseille (FRA)
Club Brugge (BEL)
Mönchengladbach (GER)
İstanbul Başakşehir (TUR)
Midtjylland (DEN)
Rennes (FRA)
Ferencváros (HUN)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

FourFourTwo Staff

FourFourTwo was launched in 1994 on the back of a World Cup that England hadn’t even qualified for. It was an act of madness… but it somehow worked out. Our mission is to offer our intelligent, international audience access to the game’s biggest names, insightful analysis... and a bit of a giggle. We unashamedly love this game and we hope that our coverage reflects that.