World Cup 2022: Who has qualified for the tournament?

World Cup 2022 stadium - which countries have qualified?
(Image credit: Getty)

The World Cup 2022 is set for the winter - and we now know every country that will be competing. 2022 marks the last tournament in which 32 teams will make the competition with 2026's edition - to be held in Canada, Mexico and the United States - to feature an increase of 16 more countries, to bring the participation number up to 48.

Qatar, naturally, qualify for the World Cup 2022 edition as hosts and will do so as the smallest country in size to have ever staged a World Cup. The next smallest, Switzerland, hosted the 1954 World Cup and is three times larger than Qatar. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Greg Lea

Greg Lea is a freelance football journalist who's filled in wherever FourFourTwo needs him since 2014. He became a Crystal Palace fan after watching a 1-0 loss to Port Vale in 1998, and once got on the scoresheet in a primary school game against Wilfried Zaha's Whitehorse Manor (an own goal in an 8-0 defeat).

With contributions from